electricfelix updates - Issue #16

Once upon a time I started writing a summer update. I never pressed "send" though. You'll find "the old items" at the end of this newsletter. Now it's time to focus on winter!

I just got back from my first electric trip to Scotland.

If you are a Twitter user, chances are you know Mr. Robin already. If you aren't plus you might not speak German, you might've missed him. I've been a fan of Robin and his publications for years now. We'd never met, until!

Robin invited me at the very last minute for the #EVRoadToCOP trip and even though I had no budget, I decided I should jump on the opportunity. Meeting all these awesome fanatics on the road and seeing the GRIDSERVE, Britishvolt, myenergi (Zappi) and other places in person, it was totally worth it. Robin's recap in German is here. I don't think we managed to capture enough headlines, but these meetings will last in our minds and will help us push forward.

Thanks a million to everybody involved!

People like Loïc who offered his WeCharge card so we could check out IONITY all over the UK (a full saga) without filing for bankruptcy, you'll be close in our heart forever!

A convoy of electric cars has set off from Essex heading to Glasgow for the UN's Climate Change Conference - to highlight the importance of green transport.  | ITV News Anglia

Last week after the arguably huge Tesla announcement, years of anticipation & rumours it's live at Ten Dutch Superchargers: Fast Charging for All!

Lucky me, on the road while reading the news Robin, Johannes were heading south in the UK at the time. The original plan was they'd take me to Maastricht (on their way back to Munich). It was a matter of checking the map of now Public Superchargers in The Netherlands.

We ended up taking the ID.3 on day two of Tesla's beta testing program to the Supercharger v3 Tilburg. The four minute recap is online for your viewing pleasure!

Let The Games begin (very first paid Tesla charging session, with the Wolfsburg ID.3!!)

I should be back soon with many more updates, in the mean time don't forget to read what I wrote after the Hertz rental news broke! The best rental deals in Europe might be elsewhere for now... Curious about 2022 though!

Oh and this weekend I scored my biggest YouTube hit yet: bringing the Taycan to the Supercharger of Eemnes, a v3 indeed. If you were wondering what that was all about, here it is!

Welcome to the summer update! (dated)

The last early summer newsletter was sent out from Spain, just before Hugo and I went on our last(?) 28kWh adventure ride from Begur to Amsterdam. I uploaded the road to Begur to YouTube, if you want to get a better idea of some of the charging infrastructure between Amsterdam and Paris, Perpignan and Girona, Spain.

Infrastructure around Europe

Since I'm speaking to many travelers it's been quite exciting recently to watch the "charging queues" unfold around Europe.

Not surprisingly it's just at a couple of locations that simply cannot handle the amount of simultaneous visitors which has to do with many factors of which one stands out:

The only locations where (outside of Norway) I've heard of serious queues are Total (A1, dir Lille/Paris) and IONITY Hauconcourt (near Metz) and these places have one thing in common. They serve traffic from all directions. Yet they don't have a sufficient amount of chargers to do so.

Now the only real question is, why didn't anyone call Porsche for a charging truck near Metz. I will never understand. Please learn for 2022. Benjamin knows what's up.

The solution isn't hard to find though, thanks for the image Sebastien

IONIQ5 800V #chargingmonster

My buddy Hugo that I introduced in the last newsletter had ordered the Project 45 edition back when it was announced earlier this year. Of course we had to do some testing immediately, check out our very first Full Charge at Fastned Hilden!

#BerlinChallenge update

It's been a year full of BerlinChallenges, you have probably already seen the BMW iX3 come in even below 7h and the VW ID.3 (with much more traffic) at just a tiny bit more than that.

Of course, the 650km+ Berlin -> Amsterdam had to be done at #autobahnspeed with the IONIQ5. I'm very thankful that Hugo wanted to go on this journey with me, it won't be the last you've seen of this vehicle !

The blog!

The BerlinChallenge: a "test" if you will of the fastest charging

infrastructure of Europe combined with modern EV's. From Berlin to

Amsterdam with the Hyundai IONIQ5 testing the 800V charging system to the

fullest at IONITY, EnBW and Fastned. Tritium and Alpitronic High Power

Chargers delivered peak charging speeds of 222kW!

Or if you want to dive straight into the video of all charging sessions full of stats, never before (late edit: of course the Porsche/Tesla combination crushed this IONIQ5 session) did I release a video that went to 10.000 views in just a matter of weeks! The thirst out there for this vehicle is simply enormous!

See you at a fast charger soon!

You can support the continuation of the electricfelix project on Patreon, Petje.af, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram & facebook.

Or connect on LinkedIn if you prefer.