electricfelix updates - Issue #15

June on two wheels! Finally I've been back riding some electric motorcycles and the first blogs are online for your reading pleasure! I've also tested AC charging on a fully upgraded ZERO motorbike.

Since electric motorbikes have gotten (or lured?) me into "the business", if you want to find out some more about how I started my electricfelix travels, the blogs are much recommended.

I've been welcoming new supporters planning summer travels recently and I can't wait to receive their reports on how it all turned out. The first Audi has made it to Italy and will soon be followed by ENYAQ, Polestar 2, ID.3 heading into France & Spain. Enjoy the ride everyone! Patrons of electricfelix can always request travel advice using the form on this page.

Part of the ZERO lineup (thanks Gert-Jan: electricmotorbikes.nl)

Pricing

EnBW (DE) new pricing model will start this first week of July, and Maingau (DE based, available all over Europe) just announced new prices for the 1st of August. 2019 (5ct/min fast charging) feels further away than ever before. (It is of course). The landscape is changing and we're still far away from mainstreaming the EV charging world.

Geographical differences are probably here to stay but how will that factor into IONITY and other fast charging offers and EV roadtrips, has yet to be seen.

Example: the German EnBW charging card that I would've recommended to anyone in Europe over the past year, was orderable from The Netherlands only to have your account blocked if you actually ordered one for home delivery.

Meanwhile if you live in The Netherlands, most IONITY "car brands" won't offer you any IONITY deal with your vehicle. Most of the year it doesn't even matter, it's Fastned (and Allego and Shell) that are rockin' the boat of fast charging around the country anyway.

The thing is too, in The Netherlands AC charging is omnipresent and growing, which leads to less DC charging (I think), compared to Germany and France where a DC charging session can make up for a loss in regional options to find an AC charger during your sleep/work session.

The (?) summer deal

Unlike JuicePass last year, with EV charging becoming a bigger and bigger spectacle, this year you will have to pay for your charging sessions. But you can get those prices down, especially if planned carefully (and for example unlocking the fastest curve for your vehicle in France where you pay by the minute most of the time!)

There's a certain 800V vehicle coming up that I hope to demonstrate this with sooooooon.

It's evway from Italy (again Italy, see the trend here?) that promises to equalise the IONITY game for anybody, whatever brand, whatever the country you're from!

IONITY in 2021, better and pricier than ever. There is a new game in town and the head master is called: evway! Fresh from Italy they serve you an offer you might not be able to refuse! Charging at IONITY for everyone at €0,39/kWh (plus a yearly fee of €199,-)

My very first electric motorbike (2017)

Thanks to Marchel I could ride the Energica Eva years ago, back then my blog didn't exist and I wrote about it in Dutch.

It was time for an update with all new two wheelers I hope to be trying in the coming years. I translated my 2017 blog for you!

A translation of my 2017 first electric motorbike experience: with the

Energica Eva. A ride to the beach, photo shoots around the hotspots of

Noord-Holland, DC fast charging at Fastned with the only motorbike at the

time to support this functionality.

New fast charging locations

There's so much going on, with GRIDSERVE in the UK doing the biggest local takeover I have ever seen. Hope I can make it out there to test some of their new setups (formerly ecotricity).

Allego's France expansion has slowed down again it seems, I don't know yet if I can squeeze Montpellier into my return travels (I'm in Spain right now).

Fastned isn't slowing down, Belgium, the UK, The Netherlands, Germany, new stations are opening all over Europe. Will they make their november splash into France? Can't wait to find some 300kW chargers along the Autoroute and #autocharge instantly. Oh yes. No Tesla needed.

IONITY seems to have shifted gears to other parts of Europe if you look at the info page it's clear within a couple of clicks!

But it's the quiet before the storm: new money should be coming in soooooooon.

Unofficial status tracker for the IONITY High Power Charging network in Europe with country overview. Tracking development of the locations which will be built across Europe and supports 350 kW high power charging.

If you never want to miss the openings (or construction sites) of the most promising European fast charging installations I recommend following electricfelix on twitter.

Rental deals

It's summer, when renting a vehicle can double in price before you know it. Sixt (NL) added the Kia e-Niro to the lineup and it's a bargain (two weeks €409,- if you book right now for start of July)!

Want to try that IONIQ5? Nextmove (DE) can help out!

IONIQ 5 mieten - der Elektroauto-Kracher des Jahres 2021 - demnächst auch in der E-Auto-Flotte zur Miete oder im Abo bei nextmove.

Free Fast Charging

In Spain! Thanks to Porsche!

Introducing Team Electricfelix

Alone is nothing. I wouldn't be doing what I was doing without the help of an endless list of friends, companies and most importantly the patrons & petje.af supporters (60 and counting now!).

Two friends stand out, because they have been with me from the very beginning, Hugo drove with me to Paris in a rental i3 back in 2018. Later Nander joined when I took the rental Jaguar to Berlin.

Right now, I'm in Spain with Hugo. It's the 2nd time we're taking his classic IONIQ 28kWh for a 1500km one-way adventure. It's the first time you can follow us, every step of the way, on Polarsteps.

Follow electricfelix's IONIQ classic Amsterdam to Begur (ES) trip

Saturday the drive to Amsterdam starts. Follow us if you want some live charging action with one of the fastest charging small battery powered vehicles around.

Much more in July, beach time now!