electricfelix updates - Issue #13

Roadtrip season incoming!

The first #BerlinChallenge of 2021 is just one week away!

A quick history lesson: it took us ten hours to reach Berlin by Jaguar I-Pace during winter of 2018. Back then, charging was cheap!

2019 was the first seven hour trip, thanks to the UFODRIVE Model 3 ride.

2020 was nothing short of amazing, record beating TAYCAN power!

And now, for the 2021 edition(s).....!

As electricfelix I like to keep on discovering, if you want to know where

I'm headed next, or where I just went. It's all here. Future and past

electricfelix electric roadtrips.

Following the link above, you can always check where I'm headed next. I've asked BMW if I could go for some serious fast charging with their new iX3 and the answer was positive!

The #BerlinChallenge is up next and after reading about the consumption (and charging) of the vehicle, my hopes are high! Of course it could never beat Porsche, but it might settle right behind Tesla at least!

Electric rental fun

Recently I was browsing the Hertz website, one of my clients has been a regular there for a long time. Since he wants to go electric this summer, I was looking into possible options. To my grand surprise, I encountered the ID.3!

At a spectacular rate (below the ZOE and half price when compared to Model 3).

I really like it when rental companies offer interesting vehicles like the I-Pace over the past years at Sixt, and now this one! Contacted Hertz and talked to their PR department, I'm Berlin bound soon!

Not one but two #BerlinChallenges incoming!

That's not all. Romance leads me to Sweden next month, and we're taking a cute compact vehicle to get there, are you ready for the long awaited e-208! The photo that got me in touch with Peugeot is this one, I took it back in 2019, can you believe it!

#MaastrichtChallenge

One of my 2021 plans is to also discover more locally. The infrastructure around the Netherlands feels crispy thanks to Fastned, Allego and Shell Recharge for example. But in reality, for the average driver there are still way to many gray spots on the map. I hope to test many compact vehicles this year during the weekends and take them to Maastricht in the south, see what happens.

Some will rock the AC charging boat when going for a coffee, some will need a recharge before we arrive (it's 200km from Amsterdam).

Check out my Polarsteps if you're curious what adventures Nander and I got into during our SERES3 tryout recently.

Follow electricfelix's MaastrichtChallenge with SERES 3 trip

Up next will be the...

Revolution Podcast!

Ryan Ford (EVBox) has been talking to many people that do something around the EV space. I really like that he's looking beyond the vehicles, we had a chat that went from electric motorycycles to charging cards and back to shared mobility, check it out!

In this episode of the podcast, we welcomed Felix Hamer, EV travel hacker, and eMobility enthusiast. We discussed all things electric vehicles, including his blog electricfelix.com, the role of charge cards in planning an EV road trip, and some of the exciting trips Felix has undertaken in electric vehicles.

e-tron 55: Paris to Amsterdam

This winter I woke up in Paris once.

Thanks to curfew and the local infrastructure being... a story for another day, the vehicle had around 30% SoC (State of Charge) when leaving. It was a ride full of fast charging tests, the results are on the blog (and YouTube).

Een reisverslag van een rit over de Franse snelweg vanuit Parijs terug naar

Amsterdam. Met de elektrische Audi e-tron 55, zonder van tevoren 's nachts

vol te (kunnen) laden. Van snellader naar snellader voor een zo vlot

mogelijke rit. Total, Allego en Fastned zorgen voor optimaal reiscomfort.

IONITY Portugal

Keeping their promise, last week the first 350kW stations by IONITY have opened all they way over in Portugal. The only question now is when I can go for a testing run!

EnBW Germany

Just days ago EnBW announced one of the 1000(!) locations that will be offering Fast Charging in Germany before the end of 2021 will be quite a special one.

Public Fast Charging 2.0?

I have to say as my poll on Instagram showed, people are surprised by the amount of stalls!

Tweets of the month

Now that we're checking out this fast charging infrastructure built in Korea, it's time to take you on a virtual tour I shot in Utrecht of the #IONIQ5 -- thanks Hugo!

Can't wait to drive it this summer!

See you at a fast charger soon!